The Koach Fort, formerly called ‘Nabi Yusha Police’ is a pilgrimage site. Every year hundreds of thousands visit the site, the gem of a rare scenery with a wonderful observation point to the Hula Valley. They climb the “Palmach trail”, remember the brethren’s grave and draw strength from the heroin’s story that happened here during the war of independence. Twice the Palmach forces and the “Haganah” attacked the police and were warded off. Only during the third attack was the fort conquered and then it was given the name “Metzudat Koach”, commemorating the 28 soldiers who died during the conquest battles
The museum’s establishment was prompted by the late Yehuda Dekel. Yehuda was a member of Hachsharat HaZofim (scouts) in Kibbutz Dafna whereby 12 of its members and three of its commanders died during the second battle against the police. Those who had fallen were his close friends. Since the battle in 1948 he worked to fulfill his dream and vision: to memorialize the casualties of Nabi Yusha in a museum whereby the focus would be the subject of comradeship (“Reut”). His friends and varied institutions joined The Society for Preservation of Israel Heritage Sites in order to establish the HaReut Museum
For further information: info@shimur.org.il
To return to the Donations Department page, click here




